A Heaping Dose of Medicine

So I thought I would end the weekend/start the week with a little lighthearted post about my favorite type of medicine. I take a dose of it everyday and when I miss a day I can totally tell! Total. Game. Changed.

A dog is a man’s best friend, right? Kind of a cliché phrase, but it is a cliché for a reason. A year and a half ago when I jumped on the crazy train (yes that is how I refer to my several week long breakdown that landed me in the ER… there are two reasons why I refer to it thusly. 1. I try to make light of the situation 2. It was hilarious to watch my parents squirm when I joked about it) I vowed I would do whatever I could to feel normal again. When I was starting to come around I was ready to try some new things. And much to my husband’s complete joy, I thought a dog might help. And so enters Melvin.

Besties

( I believe this was the day after we got Melvers. As you can tell it’s a match made in heaven)

A dog is often thought to be an incredible aid to those who may suffer with anxiety and depression for several reasons:

A dog is incredibly intuitive. I could go on and on about my dog Melvin and his intuition. There have been countless times when I’ve been sitting and crying and Melvin will just come and sit at my feet. Where he will look at me and put his face right about against mine. Even when I was in labor at home my pup came and licked my legs during the middle of a contraction. And if you are wondering, my husband and I are convinced that Melvin knew I was expecting before we knew. This dog knows what’s up.

A dog will keep you company. You are never alone! This has been very nice with me since there are many times when my husband is gone because of the Marine Corps. Especially since Melvin is basically my husband’s twin. Seriously. They both are willing to wrestle those who are twice their size and will most likely come out on top. Not only that but they both play hard and sleep hard. There has been more than one occasion where I’ve called Melvin by my husband’s name and vice versa. Because my pup is always with me he helps keep the darkness that can sometimes come with loneliness. And best of all, I know that both of them will do whatever it takes to protect me and our Baby Girl and keep us happy.  Although I’m pretty sure my Marine won’t run away and shake in the corner whenever I vacuum. But there’s a first time for everything.

Twins

(Yeah, they like to watch Mickey Mouse together… and no, he is not allowed on the furniture…)

A dog forces you to be active. When you have a dog you need to take him outside and go on walks. Sometimes when the darkness of depression sets in it’s hard to get out of the house or even out of bed. But a dog makes you go outside. And things can change when you go outside, soak in the sun, breathe fresh air, and become a little active. You can get a whole new perspective on the day. Seriously. Sounds like a total joke, trust me I would know, I always resist the idea of trying the cheesy “happy go lucky” remedies. But that’s a-whole-nother blog post.

I like to refer to Melvin as my little doggy dose of medicine. When speaking to a psychiatrist who asked me about what I am doing for my depression, my husband piped up before I could say anything and said “she has a dog who is basically an antidepressant”. He brought me so much joy when I was coming out of a joyless time in my life. What’s great now is that I get to watch my little Melvin adore my Baby Girl. And I can only hope that Melvin is for my Baby Girl what he is to me! However, I wouldn’t suggest running to the pound and picking the first dog you think is cute. Get to know the pup and make sure it’s a great fit! I was lucky in that Melvin and I bonded INSTANTLY.

Melvin Bow Tie

(He’s got style and he ain’t afraid to show it)

I’ve never really wanted a pet. But I can tell you this much: I am so happy that we got Melvin. He has been a blessing in bringing a little joy in my life. He also happens to be my husband’s best friend. Like legit besties. It’s amazing what God will bring into your life to help you. Even something like a little white puppers.

Pelvies

(Melveroni and Cheese. Enough said.)

I am not a doctor or physician, but I consulted both before starting my journey. If you need help consult the professionals immediately! I have no training. The professionals do and they are there to help!

2 thoughts on “A Heaping Dose of Medicine

Leave a Reply

